Qualifying for fall election set

Qualifying dates for the fall 2016 election have been set for Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, July 20-21-22, according to LaSalle Clerk of Court Steve H. Andrews, who is the chief election officer for the parish.

Voters will be choosing several officials at the Tuesday, November 8th open primary, congressional/presidential election. The general election (or runoff) will be held on Saturday, December 10th.

First and foremost, the most important race on the November ballot will be that for President of the United States of America. As of this writing, it appears that Donald Trump will be the Republican candidate, and Hillary Clinton, the Democratic candidate.

Louisiana voters will also be picking a new United States Senator to replace Sen. David Vitter, who says he is retiring at the end of this present term, which ends Jan. 3, 2017.

Already, three Democrats and five Republicans have declared their candidacy for Vitter’s seat. Democrats include Caroline Fayard, an attorney; Foster Campbell, member of the Public Service Commission; and Josh Pellerin, a businessman. Republicans in the race include: John Fleming and Charles Boustany, Jr., both congressmen from Louisiana; Rob Maness, retired colonel; Joseph Cao, former congressman; and John Kennedy, state treasurer.

Fifth District U.S. Congressman Ralph Abraham, M.D., is also up for re-election this fall and is not expected to have any major opposition. 

Congressman Abraham, was elected to represent Louisiana's 5th District in December 2014. The 5th District is the largest in terms of area in the state, spanning 24 parishes across most of Northeast and Central Louisiana and parts of five Florida parishes in the state's southern "boot." This is his first publicly held office after spending most of his life as a practicing physician, veterinarian, business owner, farmer, pilot and veteran.

Dr. Abraham is a member of the Veterans Affairs Committee and is the chairman of the subcommittee on Disability Assistance and Memorial Affairs, a position rarely achieved by freshmen members of Congress. His position on the subcommittee provides him an important role in implementing effective and efficient reforms to Department of Veterans Affairs while holding the administration accountable. He is also on the HVAC subcommittee on Health.

Dr. Abraham is a veteran himself after serving in the Army Reserves, the Mississippi National Guard and volunteering in the Coast Guard Auxiliary and the Air Force's Civil Air Patrol.

Dr. Abraham also serves on the Agriculture Committee.

The 5th District is one of the largest row crop districts in the nation, and many of the district’s farmers raise livestock. Dr. Abraham’s position on the House Committee on Agriculture, including the General Farm Commodities & Risk Management and the Nutrition subcommittees, puts him in the best position to make sure Louisiana’s farmers are well-represented on the federal level.

Judicial Offices

There are three judicial offices that LaSalle Parish voters will participate in filling at the fall election. Terms of present members expire at the end of this year.

The first is Associate Justice, Fourth District, Supreme Court of Louisiana. Marcus Clark is expected to seek re-election for this seat at the fall election.

Two seats for judges on the Court of Appeal, 3rd Circuit, First Division, are also up for election this fall.

The first of those seats is in Division B, currently held by Judge Jimmie C. Peters of Jena. Because of age requirements, the current member will not be eligible to seek re-election. However, his son, Judge Christopher Peters of the 28th Judicial District, has announced he will be a candidate for the seat. One other candidate already announced for the seat is Van H. Kyzar, District Attorney of Natchitoches Parish.

The Third Circuit Court of Appeal hears all criminal and civil court case appeals for a 21-Parish area including the central and southwestern parishes of Louisiana and the open seat on the court will be filled from the sub-district including Avoyelles, Catahoula, Concordia, Grant, LaSalle, Natchitoches, Rapides and Sabine Parishes.

The second seat on the Court of Appeal, 3rd Circuit, First Division, up for election this fall is in Division C. Currently holding this seat is Judge Shannon J. Gremillion, who is expected to seek re-election. As of this writing, no one has announced they will oppose Gremillion at the fall election.

Public Service Commissioner Clyde Holloway of Forest Hill, who represents the Fourth District, is up for re-election this fall. He has no announced opposition at this time. Holloway represents a large area of Central Louisiana on the PSC, including LaSalle Parish.

Holloway served three terms in the U.S. House of Representatives, and has represented this district on the PSC since 2009.

The district is comprised of the following parishes: Acadia, Allen, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Catahoula*, Evangeline, Grant, Iberia*, Jefferson Davis, LaSalle, Rapides, Sabine*, St. Landry, Vermilion, and Vernon. (*Indicates part of the parish is in the 4th district).

Special Elections

Two special elections have been called to coincide with the November 8th primary, to fill two unexpired terms of officials in LaSalle Parish.

A special election was called in the Town of Tullos to fill an unexpired term on the Board of Aldermen.

Also, a special election was called in Justice of the Peace District Four to fill the unexpired term of JP Don Smith, who died earlier this year. The district is comprised of Pct. 1 of Jury District 5, and all of Jury districts 6 and 10.

Tax renewal elections, and other special elections could be called for the Nov. 8th election date before the deadline passes for calling special elections.  

Rate this article: 
No votes yet